Best. Saturday. Evah.

September 20, 2009 at 8:19 pm 1 comment

Seriously. It was the best Saturday ever.

Why, you may ask?

1) It started with home-made sausage and home-made biscuits. mmmmmmn. If you want to try it yourself, just to see how happy it can make you, click the links for recipes.

2) Then we went for a walk at Fraser River Park. So beautiful. All off-leash, full of happy dogs. Yay!

3) It continued with knitting. Everyone loves knitting, right? Knitting, with friends, and great caesars? Perfecto!

Knitting is surprisingly hilarious. Tracy and Reena agree.

As do Aimee and Abby. Abby was making friendship bracelets (and drinking Shirley Temples–don’t worry, we’re not that badass.)

5) It continued with RED BASTARD. OMG. I’m in love. With a man in a red balloon suit. Who wants you to “sing into his mouth”, and reach into his bum to get a “present.” Previously, the only colour for bastards for me was green.
Now my heart belongs to red. See for yourself.

Oddly hot, no? Thank you, Vancouver Fringe Festival, for enhancing my life.

6) Ran into pals Al and Sue, and went for drinks at the Arts Club. Superfun!

7) Starving! Off we went to Fringe Club to get a takeout sandwich, and sweet fancy molasses, the weirdest cover band in the world was playing. Kenny Rogers look-alike doing a combo of Kenny-related stand up comedy, plus Kenny Rogers tunes. Mr. Dame won prizes for knowing “I Just Dropped In (to See What Condition My Condition was In)”.


Kenny Rogers hand puppet (made of a paper bag and a photocopy).

One hundred Kennybucks. YOW!

Best of all? A friend and ex-student was playing the mandolin. I know she’s a great musician who does a fabulous duo with her partner, but I’ve never seen her play. So, the first time I clap eyes on Kat playing music is in a whacked out Kenny Rogers cover band. The perfect end to a perfect day.

I leave you with a scene from one of the world’s finest movies.
The dude abides.

Entry filed under: Arts from not-Vancouver, Knitting, Vancouver Arts.

Paws for a Cause Update Reasons to be British

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


