Sewing is Awesome

November 8, 2009 at 7:03 pm Leave a comment

I started on the puppet theatre for the nieces and here’s what I’ve learned:

  • I can’t press a straight hem to save my life.
  • Sewing is much faster than knitting.
  • My (mother’s old) sewing machine has hidden depths that have only been hinted at thus far.
  • Hallelujah for people (my mother) who keep the manuals.
  • It is best to walk away with a feeling of accomplishment, rather than trying to do one more thing and buggering it up dreadfully.

Some other things I’m thinking about sewing:

Tessuti’s favourite top. Other splendid versions here and here. I am particularly smitten with the striped ones, although a giant balloon shirt with horizontal stripes will not do me any favours.

Beddy-bye Beasts. Also for my bro’s daughters. I have a few sweaters that I could felt up… That Holly over there also has a deelish looking recipe for soda bread.

A skirt from Sew What! Skirts. I bought some baby wale black cord and some snap tape to try to make the wrap skirt with no ties. I’m thinking I’ll bind the top edge with bias tape and just hem the bottom and sides.

Anybody have any other cool ideas for an inexperienced and impatient seamstress? Small and simple, folks. Small and simple.

Entry filed under: Making Stuff-Not Knitted, NaBloPoMo, The Fambly, Uncategorized.

Craftacular I Celebrate My Lameness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


