From Horrible, Some Good

January 20, 2010 at 1:10 pm Leave a comment

Quite a few knitwear designers are donating a portion of their sales from now until the end of the month to relief efforts in Haiti.

The unbelievably generous Ysolda Teague is donating 80% of her (probably not inconsiderable) sales to Médecins Sans Frontières for their work in Haiti. If you were planning to knit any of her lovely designs, now would be a splendid time to purchase the patterns.

I took the opportunity to stockpile Ishbel, which will be helpful in freeing me from the giant pile of sock yarn I’ve managed to accumulate.

I always like Laura Chau (aka Cosmic Pluto)’s designs, and she is donating 50% to Haitian relief, so I picked up her Honey Bee Cardigan pattern. Needless to say, I shall NOT be knitting the short boob-holder version. And some dyeing must take place before I can start it, but what the hell… no time like the present.

You can search Ravelry for other designers who are supporting the Haitian relief effort by looking for patterns tagged “help-for-haiti” or click here.

You can also view the Yarn Harlot’s post on how to direct your donation to MSF, and become one of the  Tricoteuses Sans Frontières.

ETA: On Saturday Jan 23, if you shop at Three Bags Full, 50% of the profit goes to MSF.  Also, I bought Gaenor.

Entry filed under: Knitting.

The Christmas Knitting A Very Cool Idea

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


