A Very Cool Idea

January 29, 2010 at 11:25 am Leave a comment

I love this: embroidered & needlepointed cushions and quilts, lovingly hand-made for you in PRISON.

tattoo cushion

I am getting all sweaty with joy just thinking about certain people coming for a visit and remarking on the loveliness of my new pillow, only to be told that, “yes, I had that made for me by a dude in JAIL.”

Cash pillowMore seriously, if I had to articulate part of what I think is wrong with the world, it’s that “stuff” is not valued. Everything is disposable, crappy, made by machines (or people who are treated like machines); people are disengaged from how things like food, paper goods, and textiles make it to their house for them to use or consume. And when you don’t value stuff, it’s a short hop to not valuing people, their opinions, and even their lives. And then you end up in jail.

lobsters

So, as a rehabilitative measure, I am all for murderers learning embroidery. It will probably facilitate slowing down, thinking and exploring their own minds, which will hopefully lead to greater respect for others, and, erm, less murder?

Plus, how sweet is that lobster cushion? Many Valentines options too.

Entry filed under: Arts from not-Vancouver, Making Stuff-Not Knitted.

From Horrible, Some Good The Great Gauge Accident of 2009

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


