The Great Gauge Accident of 2009

February 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm 2 comments

Enough time has now passed that I may speak of the great gauge accident of 2009 without crying.

I wanted a chunky, outdoorsy, instead-of-a-coat sort of sweater. For me. Elann had a big sale on Rowan Scottish Tweed Chunky. I got the colour I wanted (Herring). I had finished my Christmas knitting. I was a happy woman, making an easy, breezy sweater for herself.

Oh, it’s a cinch to knit a top-down sweater without a pattern, they said. Just measure your gauge, do a little math, and away you go.

LIARS.

Exhibit the first:

Here is a man with a 50 inch chest, wearing a 53 inch sweater. Fie on your math and gauge swatching, I says.

Okay. I might have panicked and cast on a few too many stitches at the pits (six, so 2 inches). But really, this should have worked. The gauge is right, the math is right. But I tried it on and it was ridiculous. Then I blocked it.

The colour is lovely, though. Exhibit the second:

Look at them funky little flecks of colour. Also, Mr. Dame, cheer the hell up. YOU didn’t spend a month knitting this stupid sweater.

Pattern: Classic Raglan Pullover by Barbara Walker
Yarn:
Rowan Scottish Tweed Chunky, 8 balls of Herring
Needles: US 10.5  circs. To add insult to injury? My Knitpicks Harmonies popped out of the metal collar that holds the needley part in, and I had to borrow the most hideous needles from my mum. The cable could CUT you.
Made for: Mr. Dame (accidentally).

Coming next? The Hoodie of Repentance.

Entry filed under: Angst, Knitting.

A Very Cool Idea Why I Is the Way I Is.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lucy WithaY  |  February 14, 2010 at 4:58 am

    I’m impressed. I can’t even get the scarf I knitted for Mr WithaY to unroll, despite several goes with the iron.

    And chunky jumpers are meant to be a bit big. It looks lovely.

    Reply
    • 2. dameemma  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      You will note that I was in such a foam that I neglected to mention that this sweater was meant to be for me. Alas, I am 5’4″. I have biggish boobs, but… no.
      And, soak your scarf in some coolish water, then stretch it out and pin it to the shape you’d like it to be. That may help.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


