Baby Steps

March 11, 2010 at 1:32 pm 1 comment

My friend and former client is having a baby. This came as a surprise, as she is pretty much the consummate professional, and we’ve never talked love life, children, or any other really personal stuff. She just called me out of the blue for some advice on who I thought might cover for her while she is on maternity leave.

WHAT?!

Anyway. I think she just decided it’s time. There is no man in her life (as far as I know.) I have not asked her where the sauce came from, and she has not volunteered. Which is fine, as it should be. She’s a fantastically modern woman. So what to do but knit her a fantastically modern baby blanket? As well as some booties that came from a 90-year-old lady.  But which look surprisingly modern.

Patterns: Bulky Baby Blankets and Christine’s Stay-On Baby Booties
Yarns:
Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick-n-Quick (blanket) and Sandnes Garn Sisu (booties)
Needles: US 10  (6mm) circs, and US 1 (2.5mm) bamboo dpns
Made for: Minna’s new baby. Hooray!

Highly recommend both patterns for last-minute shower gifts that look splendid. The booties were a special request–once she’d told me she was pregnant, pretty much the second thing out of her mouth was, “and you’ll be knitting me some booties.” Happy to oblige.

Entry filed under: Knitting.

Why I Is the Way I Is. The Bread Cult

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. karmavore  |  April 7, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Holy SH*T. That’s some great knitting! I’m still knitting Theo’s baby blanket. Made a lot of tactical errors. Five colours and small needles. It takes me 20 minutes to knit ONE ROW. Anyway wonderful gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


