The Bread Cult

March 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm 2 comments

Late to the party as ever, I have joined a cult. As cults go, it’s pretty benign–we make bread, we don’t murder people and steal their money. But, make no mistake, it’s a cult. It has many illustrious members.

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day: Learn it, live it, be it.  (Not their slogan, but it totally should be.) The book will show you how to make vast vat of bread dough, then leave it the hell alone until you feel like eating bread.  Below is the (slightly) sinister bread dough, lurking in its (plastic dollar-store) vat.  (I need to get a proper vat.)

Then, it explains how to rip off a chunk, leave it alone some more, bung it in the oven, and enjoy hot, delicious bread with staggeringly little effort. (Although, book says not to hack into your bread until it is cool. Bah!) How could you not want to eat THIS immediately?:

The other thing? This big vat of dough? Also makes fantastically good pizza crust. I have had fresh pizza at least once a week for two months. I’m not yet tired of it. And another thing? There is a recipe for brioche dough. Which you can use to make THESE:

Flip ’em over? They look like this:

I have been pondering the possibilities of that brioche dough. I wonder if you could use it to make a base for this cake-like thing?

Anyway more info and two very nice seeming people over here. It’s really easy. You should join the cult too.

Entry filed under: Food, Making Stuff-Not Knitted.

Baby Steps A Potentially Heretical Rant

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  March 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Oh my gosh that all looks so tasty… I have a bread machine which I probably use once a week or so, it’s so handy. I like the look of that nutty brioche – it looks amazing, yum!

    Reply
  • 2. Simone Lehmann  |  April 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    We have that book at the store! Sold! I’m selling everything I own, shaving my head, and joining the Cult of Easy Artisan Bread. Well, maybe just the last bit … I have a new pair of kicky little sandals I can’t quite part with …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


