An Inspirational Knit

April 27, 2010 at 6:26 pm 3 comments

I have (knitting) nuts of steel. I really do. I’m not afraid of anything. But, when I took Stahman’s Shawls and Scarves out of the library, I scared the pants off myself.

Today’s challenge for KnitCroBlo is to blog about a pattern or project I aspire to. And hoo-boy, do I aspire to knit one of these masterpieces. I love, love, love a Faroese shawl (one with shaping that wraps around the body), but they’re big, and when knit in an all-over pattern, involve some fairly complicated shaping beyond just reading your knitting.

There are OTHER Faroese shawls that are less complicated, and I love with equal passion (Cheryl Oberle’s Stora Dimun comes to mind), but I worry that , like everyone has one good novel in them, I only have one giant shawl in me.

Go ahead. I dare you. Noodle around Ravelry for some favourited shawls from this book. They’ll take your breath away.

Click here to see other blogs tagged with knitcroblo2, blogging about this same topic for Knitting and Crochet Blog week.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: .

The Madness Begins One (or Two, or Eleventy) Great Knitter(s)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. klccreations  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Love, love, love those shawls! I am reserving the book from our library a.s.a.p.!

    Reply
  • 2. Rae  |  April 27, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Wow I looked at a few on Ravelry & all I can say is gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 3. WorstedKnitt  |  April 27, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    They really are beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


