One (or Two, or Eleventy) Great Knitter(s)

April 28, 2010 at 6:16 pm 2 comments

This topic has done my head in a bit. Trying to identify one inspiring knitter is like trying to pick out an individual snowflake in a blizzard. There are  so very many people who are spectacularly inspiring, all in their own way.

So, I’ve made some subheads:

Gurus, no longer with us:

Elizabeth Zimmerman. Of course. Her books read like novels. She frees anarchists from the tyranny of the pattern, but provides enough information that you can follow along step by step if you need to.

My particular faves:

The Baby Surprise Jacket
Knit with Koigu KPPM on US 4/3.5mm needles

Mitred Mitts
Knit with Noro Kureyon on US 8/5mm needles

Gurus, still very much with us:

These are people whose work I admire greatly, and who have achieved some sort of demi-god status in the world of knitting. Seriously, people who came here from twitter,  there is such as thing as a famous knitter.

Norah Gaughan-O.M.G what a brain. That is all. Wait, no. I am on the brink of buying her 6th pattern book, mostly  for this:

Tremella

I have BAGS of DK cotton. BAGS. and I would wear the living hell out of this.

Diane Soucy-Sometimes, you want a simple, classic pattern that is easy to execute and satisfying.

Evelyn Clark-master of the shawl. Or mistress. Whatever.

Clara Parkes-The Knitter’s Book of Wool is superfantastic. I never would have believed I’d read, willingly, about different sheep breeds. And The Knitters Review is interesting, helpful, funny, and a real community. And it’s been around for 10 years!

Knitters/Designers whom I Don’t Know, Yet Stalk on the Internet:

Maybe they are splendid writers, maybe they are delightful designers, maybe their finished objects make me catch my breath. But I’m always delighted with a new post or pattern from any of these people.

Cookie A
Cat Bordhi
John Brinegar
Snowden Becker

Eskimimi!
(organizer of this here blog rodeo, and a hell of a web designer)
Jared Flood
Pamela Wynne

Stephen West

Karen Lykkefanten
The Mason Dixon Gals

The list goes on and on… Bloglines is down, so I know I’m forgetting many, many awesome people. The great thing about being a knitter is that every day, there is a new, fresh opportunity to make, see, or dream something beautiful.


Click here to see other blogs tagged with knitcroblo3, blogging about this same topic for Knitting and Crochet Blog week.

Entry filed under: Knitting, Uncategorized. Tags: .

An Inspirational Knit Lifelong Learning

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WorstedKnitt  |  April 28, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    What lovely knitters & designers you’ve chosen! Elizabeth Zimmermann truly is great.

    Reply
  • 2. Shellee  |  April 29, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I like who you’ve chosen. A nice bunch of designers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to my words of wit

Email me

The Dame loves mail. Nigerian banking? Penis enlargement? I'm always up for that. Send it all to dameemma2 AT yahoo DOT com

Follow me on Twitter

I’m a Joiner


